× System Upgrade in Progress: Please note that publication listings may not be up to date until system replacement work is completed in Q3 2019.


Related Media Items


Research Publications and Outputs

Recent Publications

Publications: 239 (Other: 239)

Funded Griffith Research

Engagement and Impact

Learning and Teaching

Research by Higher Degree Supervision or Scholarship

Theses Supervised at Griffith



Professor Mackay-Sim is a neuroscientist interested in using stem cells for two purposes: for understanding causes of neuropsychiatric diseases and for transplantation repair of the nervous system.
He is using patient-derived stem cells to understand the cellular causes of two genetically complex diseases: schizophrenia and Parkinson's disease, and two disease caused by mutations in single genes: Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia, and ataxia telangiectasia.
He uses adult stem cells from the olfactory mucosa, the organ of smell in the nose and has established NeuroBank, a biobank of olfactory stem cells from more than 300 people with various neurological diseases.
He is also using induced pluripotent stem cells generated by genetically engineering skin cells from patients with schizophrenia and Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia.
Professor Mackay-Sim was scientific director of a clinical trial in which cells from the nose (called "olfactory ensheathing cells") were transplanted into the injured spinal cord to test their safety in three paraplegic patients. This trial provided a world-first precedent for a recent clinical trial in Poland in which a patient was able to walk after being transplanted with his own olfactory ensheathing cells.

Education and Training

  • BA Bachelor of Arts, Macquarie University (Sydney) 1974
  • PhD Doctor Of Philosophy, Macquarie University (Sydney) 1980

Awards and Honours

  • Australian of the Year, National Australia Day Council 2017 - 2017
  • Queensland Australian of the Year, National Australia Day Council 2017 - 2017
  • Suncorp Queenslander of the Year, Queensland Government 2003 - 2003
  • Australian Museum Eureka Prizes Peoples Choice Award, Australian Museum 2011 - 2011